On Monday afternoon, Twitter announced that you can now mute people you follow on the social media network, a change that may finally make Donald Trump irrelevant.
The mute function means you won’t see that person’s tweets in your timeline, or get notifications of his activity. Unlike blocking, the person can still interact with your tweets; you just won’t be notified of said interactions.
Perhaps you’ve already used the feature. Or maybe you’re just now considering it. For those of you yearning for a less troll-y timeline, here’s a quick tutorial:
On your desktop
You can mute a person from two different locations: individual tweets and profiles.
The first will probably be the most naturally occurring mute location, as you can make a snap judgment as soon as someone says something annoying in your feed.
Then just click Mute.